Where is the Passion (part 1)


It’s a cool Monday night, the World Cup fever is here, while sipping a cup of warm tea, while in conversation with a friend, and suddenly in the middle of the conversation, the person asked me, “What is your passion actually?”. For once, I was speechless and went blank for a moment. This kind of question never before been asked in front of my face, because, theoretically in my line of work our passion are written all over our final work that has been done for the people to see. So it came as a surprise to me it happened to me that night.

But this time, I just couldn’t give a straight answer to the question, or elaborate about what my work really is. I guess that is the problem for me at the moment, what do I really do for a living? As a diploma holder in Interior Design with years of work experience in the industry, I always believe that interior design is going to be my bread and butter for years to come. At least that was what I’ve been thinking until the ‘photography bug’ caught up with me somewhere in 2006.

My father was a photography hobbyist himself in his student days. He was once an active member of the photography club in his school back then, at Sekolah Alam Shah in Kuala Lumpur. You can ask him if you don’t believe. But he kept it firmly as a hobby since he had other bigger interest, which made him what he is today. So, as his only son in the family (others were daughters), I kind of develop a keen interest in photography as well, as I am the only one in the family that always empty out the film whenever there is left in a roll of 12, 24 or 36. But at that time, I’ve never known that we can actually make a living by doing photography. But that all changed in 2006..

When I bought my first DSLR in January of 2007 after months of research and gaining feedback from friends, which is the Canon EOS 350D, I said to myself that the reason for buying this big chunk of metal is just because I love taking photograph of landscape and places that I’ve been to. I’ve never think about making money with photography, let alone make it a career. I am just continuing my long lost hobby which I had in my childhood, that is to take photographs of just everything that I feel is worth clicking the shutter for.

At that time, I am still working with an interior design firm in KL as an interior designer cum draughtsman cum site supervisor cum ‘tukang-kena-maki’. The nature of this line (graphic design & architecture alike) requires total commitment to the job, able to be on standby on weekends because you never know when the client wants the drawings, and to attend meetings whenever and wherever they are. So, the time I spent on my hobby was limited to a number of days in a week, but that never stops me or rather demotivates me from pursuing my deep interest in photography that started to emerge.

Please stay tuned for part 2 on how the break into photography came..

Leave a Reply

