Reception of: Yusuf & Norhidayah


Text & Photos by Ridhuan Abu Bakar (diwant)

Norhidayah booked me quite early for their wedding day. Not as early as 1 year, but a good 6 months before. The place does take quite a journey, from KL to Felda Redong in Labis, just after Segamat. Luckily for me, I once been to Segamat earlier this year, so I am quite familiar with the town.

Make no mistake about it, these couple are a joy to work with, the family members and the ‘tol’ ceremony that had to be done before the commencing of the reception itself only made this event one to remember. The ‘tol’ ceremony is typical Johor tradition, whereas the groom’s family have to hand out some sort of angpau before they are ‘allowed’ to meet the bride. The bride’s family and relatives forms some kind of a barricade to block the view of the groom, and until the bride’s family is satisfied with the angpau, then only they can get through. That’s why it’s called ‘tol’.

And not to mention this event was also a personal record for me in terms of the sets of clothing they had to wear. If I am not mistaken, the 2 day event was done with no less than 7 sets of clothing, ranging from traditional Javanese to Korean. I was exhausted to be honest, but it’s part of the job, huhu…

Anyway, on the way back I did stop by Berjaya Gunung Ledang Resort for a rest and I can tell you it’s a great place to relax and have a little bit peace of mind from the godless KL. I wish I had the time to climb the mountain. Maybe next time InsyaAllah. Congratulations to Norhidayah & Yusuf for their support and cooperation…

One thought on “Reception of: Yusuf & Norhidayah

Leave a Reply

