An Afternoon in Rawang


Written & experienced by: diwant/PIXELWORKS

PHOTOGRAPHY may make you travel to places you’ve never been before, and meet people you never seen before, especially in wedding photography. Most of the time for me, I depend on the map given by my clients and their contact number. And once there, you have to build a relationship with the client and their families, sometimes in a very short space of time. But that what makes it so interesting and challenging.

This assignment brought me to Bandar Tasik Puteri, just at the outskirt of the town of Rawang. I’ve never been here before although I used to work in Rawang a couple of years ago. In my case, when the assignment is going to be held at a place unfamiliar to me, I usually spare about 30 minutes to 1 hour of extra time before the event started in case I got lost. So, if I have the spare time, I could still find my way while hopeful that I would arrive before the promised ‘time of arrival’.




My client was Sri Elyna and his soon-to-be husband Hanidy (I hope I spelt it correctly). The day started quite slow for me as usual, where the make-up session is always meant for two reasons; 1. shoot the make-up itself, and 2. a get-to-know session. That’s always the case for me as far as I’m concerned. Usually I got about 2 hours to get to know the client and see how their style would be and what kind of expectation they might have on me. We try to have a nice, slow chat throughout the session, talk about interest, workplace and stuffs like that, to make both of us comfortable and hopefully good working relationship. It’s basically about our communication & PR skills I’m afraid. It’s not critical, but very important. It could make or break the whole event if it does not goes the way you might have expected. But it’s not the end of the world.



To be honest with you guys, I sometimes got a bit emotional and touched by the actions of the respective family members, relatives and the subsequent event in front of me. Professionalism as high as we want to be, this is no doubt an emotional event and people tend to get emotional in these kind of situation, which for me is completely normal. Although I’ve been involved in numerous events throughout my career, each event is a different experience and sometimes I did got cought ‘in the action’. But most importantly, it helps me to capture the emotion effectively and I hope you guys agree with me.

The next day is the reception, until then, enjoy the pictures…



















(a member of Pixelworks Photography. Visit www.pixelworks.com.my for updates & more funtography!!)

4 thoughts on “An Afternoon in Rawang

  1. hallluu.. betul la tuh spelling u tuh.. huhu.. nic pic diwant.. x sabor nk tgk gambo sanding pulak.. aperpun.. nice to know n hope to see both of u again..

    Like

  2. thanks elyna, benda yg palng memuaskan ialah apabila customer puas hati dengan hasil kerja kami…

    hope to see you guys also in the future

    Like

Leave a Reply

